BC Roy awards go to three doctors from Lucknow

October 10, 2018 0 By CH Unnikrishnan

Three leading doctors from Lucknow were conferred with the country’s prestigious BC Roy awards.

SGPGI director Prof Rakesh Kapoor and KGMU Vice-Chancellor Prof MLB Bhatt have been awarded as ‘eminent medical teacher’. Dr Deepak Agarwal, gastroenterologist, has been awarded ‘to recognise the best talents in development of specialities in different

branches in medicine’ for his contributions to gastroenterology, stated a press release from the Medical Council of India.

Prof Bhatt, who was part of Operation Meghdoot launched by the Indian Army in 1984 to capture the Siachen Glacier, did his graduation from KGMU and joined the Indian Army’s medical corps under the Short Service Commission.

He later did his masters in radiotherapy and started teaching. He served as KGMU medical superintendent in 2006-07. He was appointed the Vice-Chancellor of KGMU in 2017. In the area of medical research, Prof Bhatt has been instrumental in developing original biomarkers for testing oral, breast, and urinary bladder cancers.

Prof Rakesh Kapoor was the winner of the prestigious Hewett Medal in graduation. Also an alumnus of KGMU, Prof Kapoor joined SGPGI Chandigarh for superspeciality in urology. In 1988, he became a faculty at SGPGI Lucknow.

A gold medallist in masters in general surgery, Prof Kapoor is credited with developing new vaginoplasty techniques wherein a vagina is created from a section of the small intestine to help women born without ovaries and vagina.

Dr Deepak Agarwal is an expert in endoscopic ultrasound, laparoscopic surgery and gastric bypass surgery.

The BC Roy Award, considered the highest medical honour in the country, is given in five categories. The award to eminent medical teachers includes Rs 15,000 and a medal for each awardee. The selections are made by a managing committee appointed by the Medical Council of India.